Phew + Twilight Castings

It’s been pretty hectic lately. NaNoWriMo did not go well at all, seeing as how I barely managed to clear the 4,000 word mark. November 4th was actually the last day that I’d managed to do any writing on my NaNoWriMo story anyhow. It must be a conspiracy or some greater, supernatural force must have intervened, but everything got loaded on: homework, extracirriculars, practices, music stuff… On the bright side, however, tomorrow’s the last school day of 2007! Doubt we’ll even do any work at all, which will be nice, especially the holiday break. It’s way overdue and very badly needed. Although it is kind of sad that 2007 is almost over now. 😦

On another note, the casting for the Twilight movie’s leading lady and gent have been released, which is pretty exciting. Robert Pattison (Cedric Diggory, Harry Potter) and Kristen Stewart (In the Land of Women). I’m sure they have more movies, but those are the most recent ones they’re in that I’ve seen. A little too bad that neither Henry Cavill or Danielle Panabaker were casted, but Robert and Kristen will probably still be great. Any thoughts? Which actors/actresses were you originally hoping for?

 Speaking of Twilight, in case anyone’s interested, here’s an excerpt from a fanfic that I wrote last November/December. (Yeah, it’s really old, and therefore by default not very good nor is it indicative of my current writing style, but any feedback is appreciated. Critiques especially! Leave me a review there or drop me a comment here. Whichever.) It’s EmmettxRosalie, titled Love at First Sight. Excuse the extremely cliched title 😉

 Life. This was the topic of the day, it seemed, as my hiking boots crunched over the shady leaf-littered trail. The concept had crawled into a crevice in my mind and burrowed its way through the synapses, determined to stay there until I’d contemplated it to a satisfying degree.

This really truly was controversial, isn’t it? There are those who live life loving every moment, and those who are negative about nearly every aspect of it. Wasn’t there a quote about this? Life’s a bitch, but it’s better than the alternative. Something like that. It’s such an unpredictable thing, such a fragile thing, that could be ripped away at any minute. Who knew how long one had left?

I breathed deeply, filling my lungs with the fresh woodsy aroma of the forest. Ever since I was a child, I have loved the forest. It’s always so calm and fresh and just natural. In the recently developed cities, factories have been popping up all over, all sooty and just plain disgusting.

Today really was a beautiful spring day to be out and enjoying life. I was alone, and the serene silence was penetrated only by my footsteps crunching heavily over the path. I ducked and swept an overhanging tree branch out of the way. Sure, my mother worried about my venturing out into the wilderness alone, but all I had to do was flex my sturdy muscles, and who could protest against that? I chuckled, remembering how my mother would laugh her tinkling laugh.

I froze, and listened with all my might. I though I heard something, in the bushes to my right—but after a pause, nothing came of it, so I continued on my way. Most likely just my imagination. Can you imagine that? And Mother says I have none. I breathed a sigh of relief. Who knew how many breaths of life one had left?

And before I could react or even gauge what was happening, a stupendous force slung me to the ground. A terrible pain shot through my upper abdomen. I let out a piercing scream, but that only made the pain worse. Most likely broken ribs. I tried opening my eyes, and a torrent of bright red blood flooded in. I blinked a few times to clear my reception—only to find the tremendous girth of a furry brown shape mounted on me. A bear, I marveled. An impossibly huge bear, hungry after months of hibernation.

It leaned back and roared, shaking its razor sharp claws in front of my face threateningly. One skimmed across my left arm, leaving a deep red gash. I ground my teeth together in an effort to keep quiet. Who knew what a hungry bear would do when provoked or frightened? I tried to through it off me, but my efforts were futile. I might as well…

Continued here: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/3232614/1/Love_at_First_Sight
(C) Issy

‘Til next time,

`Issy

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tommy says:

    Hey, thanks for commenting on my blog. I don’t get those very often. And it’s interesting that someone found me through Scott Westerfeld’s blog. Anyway, I’ve got to say, you sound a lot more interesting then I do. I mean, sure, you don’t feature Flower Sex, but there is EmmetRosalie which sort of makes up for it. I’m a male Twilight fan, by the way (Yes, they DO exist).

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Lizzy-wa says:

    hehe. youve got all these random people filtering into your blog. hehe. wish i had some of those.

    -Lizzy-wa OUT! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  3. * thepresidentofdarklingmidnighterresoures says:

    wow.. that was good….

    Sophie-La
    Word 😉

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

